LACHRIMÆ LYRÆ (Seven tears)

Tue01Oct21:00LACHRIMÆ LYRÆ (Seven tears)Concert by Sokratis Sinopoulos & L’Achéron21:00(GMT+00:00)


Free Admission

Event Details

The moving and timeless sound produced by Sokratis Sinopoulos’ lyre talks with the violas da gamba and these luminous and impressive sounds produced by the French L’Achéron ensemble. Based on Lachrimæ or “Seven Tears” combosed by the famous English composer of the 16th century John Dowland as well as on a feeling of sorrow and happiness expressed by the byzantine sounds, five musicians narrate the healing story of the transition from darkness to light, from mourning to feast.

Sokratis Sinopoulos, having a very special way of expression, is the first voice at John Dowland’s piece for five voices. This particular combination between the lyre and the violas da gamba occurs for the very first time and Sinopoulos manages to combine Eastern music with byzantine sounds in a very original way.

Sokratis Sinopoulos- lyre
FrançoisJoubert-Caillet – soprano viola da gamba
LucileBulanger – tenor viola da gamba
Andreas Linos – tenor viola da gamba
SarahVanOudenhove – bass viola da gamba

In cooperation with the Ephorate of Antiquities of Thessaloniki city


(Tuesday) 21:00(GMT+00:00)